Girl wins golf tourney … denied trophy.

Penalized for being a girl … say, what?

=========

Let’s go to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts for this one.

According to reports, Emily Nash, an 8th grader, won a teen boy’s golf tournament.

As allowed by rules, she entered the tournament as part of her high school’s team (since girl’s don’t play fall golf in her school district).

She shot from the same tees as the boys.

And, she shot 75 … which was 4 strokes better than the 2nd place finisher.

Not bad, right?

 

image

But, Emily didn’t get the tourney trophy for best individual performance.

Why? You might ask …

Simple answer:

Because she’s a girl.

Under Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association’s, girls can play on boys teams and their scores can count towards team performance …  but they’re not recognized as individuals.

So, the trophy went to the 2nd place finisher … who was the lowest scoring boy.

Say, what?

To his credit, the boy tried to give the trophy to Emily, saying that he didn’t win the tournament, that she did.

Emily said that the boy’s gesture was really nice, but she respectfully declined the offer.

Good for both of the kids.

If only the adults had as much common sense.

==========

#HomaFiles

Follow on Twitter @KenHoma            >> Latest Posts

=========

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s